What I had to go through for not using the latest Fedora

I wanted to install pygt2 in my fedora16 machine. So I was going through the steps of installation given in the site https://github.com/libgit2/pygit2. Now, before installing pygit2 you need to install libgit2 first. So I followed the steps given in the site http://libgit2.github.com/ and it did install successfully, but unfortunately it was not working out for pygit2. So I asked Kushal Das what could be the reason for pygit2 not being able to get installed in my system, and he said that it was because I was using fedora 16 not 17. It would have worked smoothy for F17 but not for F16. For F16 “sudo yum install pygit2” wont work, but instead there are srpm files available for both libgit2 and pygit, which we first need to BUILD, in order to install them. Fortunately I will not have to do that work for myself because Kushal has promised that he’d build it for me 🙂 So, after i heard the above, I was instructed that I’d need to delete all the files of libgit2 first, before proceeding to the srpm building.

So I did a little googling and found this site http://www.cmake.org/Wiki/CMake_FAQ#Can_I_do_.22make_uninstall.22_with_CMake.3F and got to know the command needed to uninstall all the files required.. Now all I’m waiting for, is to get the build of the srpms of libgit2 and pygit2 🙂

Leave a Reply

